An Unknown Rebuke

I was talking with a man I greatly respect in our church last week about our process. This man is a prayer warrior, so I asked him to pray that the government would move faster and get our stuff done. I’m pretty sure God takes this guy’s calls first. What he told me sort of caught me off guard.

He told me not to rush things and that God knew what he was doing. He said that things were working out perfectly according to God’s timing and that we should trust him and enjoy our time now. Silence. “Yeah, but that’s not what I want. I want you to pray that God would speed things up.” I didn’t actually say it, but I was thinking it. He was just responding to my request, but what he did not realize was that God was trying to show me something about himself.

We have our own timing and best plans already laid out in our heads, and things do not seem to be going according to that plan. It has been a humbling process, but we have been reminded several times in the last couple of weeks that God is in absolute control over this whole thing. We are not waiting on governments or agencies ultimately; God is working things in his own time. If he wants us back by the summer, we will be back by summer. If he does not, why should we want that?

It’s hard waiting and just not knowing, but I am reminded of what several adoption veterans told me when we started: “You are not in control of any part of this thing.” I am very aware of it. The biggest difference in my thinking is remembering that these agencies, governments, and people are not in control either. Our hope is in the Lord, and we wait for him. He will provide the money. He will work out the timing. Our baby is his.

Aaron

Respond to this post

