here we go

 

22 months and counting. Almost 2 years in process. Incredible. And finally the movement we have been waiting and working for is here. We are headed to Kazakhstan!

We booked plane tickets and will travel this Saturday, March 7th. We will arrive in kstan at 12:20 am on March 9th. We’ll crash there for most of that day and head to our region later that night. That’s where we’ll spend the next 2 months or so.

We don’t have a lot of details on what happens next at this point, but it should be fun and stretching at the same time. We will be updating the blog a lot more once we get in country (Of course that is all dependant on internet access, but we’ll assume). We will be posting updates of our daily adventures in the city and with our little guy or girl and whatever else is going on. We will have tons of free time, so be looking for updates regularly. We may also post some of our last week in the states before we go. We’ll see how much time we have. It’s going to be a freaking crazy week.

God is good, and he has been faithful. We;ve had some difficult days and weeks in the last almost two years, and I am sure there are still more to come in the next few months, but he has always been more than enough. He deserves the praise for today.

As always, thank you for walking on this road with us.

10 responses to “here we go

  • Jamie

    Is tomorrow really march 7 already? I woke up thinking about you guys! We’re praying!!

  • Lori

    Congratulations on getting your LOI! I just brought my son home from Kaz last month. It is such an exciting/exhausting/awsome adventure! I can’t wait to follow your journey.

    Lori

  • Aunt Elisabeth

    So stinking excited to meet Bill or Sue! He/she is going to have awesome parents! And lots of aunts and uncles who love them.

  • Amelia Grever

    Hey Arron and Charity. I just got the e-mail forwarded from Jack Goolsby about you all leaving soon to get your baby! How amazing! We are experiencing the joys of a new baby in the household and we can’t wait for you all to start that journey too!

  • Laura

    so neat! i am a good friend of jamie’s. i think i met you at her wedding??? can’t wait to hear more!

  • Kim

    Wow – that’s awesome! Congratulations! I will be praying for you this weekend! If you have any extra luggage room and would like to bring donations with you to Kaz, check out our website – http://www.twoheartsforhope.org.

  • Jamie

    This is thrilling. Can I post a link to your blog on mine? I know I have some friends looking to adopt who would love to hear your story and pray alongside you!

  • Lori Printy

    Good luck, you are about to have the experience of a lifetime. Enjoy every moment of your journey to parenthood.

    We just got back from KZ 2 months ago so if you have any last minute questions feel free to contact us. All the best, Lori

  • susan

    congratulations!!! I wish you all the best. If you’re heading to Petropavlovsk, I’d be happy to give insight as I was there last year. I hope to return to Kaz again next year, too. I look forward to cheering you on. Safe travels, Susan from Austin smooretexan@gmail.com

  • Lou Ann

    Hi, I just found your blog and wanted to say congratulations on getting your LOI and hopefully your Visa numbers on time for your departure next Sat. That’s just wonderful and I remember the maddening, exciting, crazy week before I left to meet my daughter Lexie from Aktau, Kaz 20 months ago. I so look forward to following your journey and hope you have as life changing of an experience as I did. Not only did I bring home the most wonderful Kazakh baby (at the time since your child is there now waiting for you) but I was given the blessing of learning about her birth country, traditions and meeting some of the wonderful people who took care of her until I could come get her. It sounds like you have open minds and open hearts enough to really appreciate the amazing people and cultures you will be meeting along the way to the best gift from God of all. Your child. I wish you the very best in the coming weeks.

    Safe tavels,

    Lou Ann, mom to almost 3 year old Lexie

Respond to this post

