news of a good kind

1) We have the most awesome blog readers! We are very encouraged at your comments, even when they are repetitive. Keep them coming.

2) God has answered. Thank you for praying. We are still looking for an apartment, so keep praying for that. They are looking as we speak. High speed internet, God. You can do it. for your name’s sake.

We have had peace amid some craziness. The 11th was a pretty crazy day with some anguish, a little soul searching, and a lot of tears and conversation. Faith and dependencey has been the theme of these days. It hasn’t been easy or clear all the time, but he’s been good to us.

We have been matched. We are going to hold back the details for now because things are volatile and this is a big change for us, the little guy (yes, I said guy), and our families. But details will be coming soon.

After long deliberation and prayer and discussion and stuggle we have been matched with little Sam (that’s what we aer going to call him). He is a funny guy, and really cute. He is a little small for his age, which is 20 months, but that was not unexpected being in an orphanage and all. We got to start our bonding today, and we will be ablet o go back again this afternoon for a little more time.

It is all very surreal. We are both sort of amazed that we are becoming parents at all. Someone might have really blown that one, but it’s too late now. We’re here. It is also crazy how we are becoming parents. One minute we were talking and hanging out with doctors and our coordinators. 3 minutes later we were sitting in a room all alone wth our new little boy, no questions asked. What the crap is going on?!

We don’t have a lot of time right now. Hopefully we will be able to sit down and type out the whole story pretty soon, and it is a crazy one. All this stuff depends on our internet access. We have been coming to this one internet cafe everyday so far, but that doesn’t allow for skype or anything like that, so pray for high speed in our apartment.

Check out our video of the trip over:

youtube.com/user/igoac.
click on my videos. It’s the highlight video.

We love you guys. Thank you for walking with us and praying. You are keeping us going.

Aaron and Charity

32 responses to “news of a good kind

  • Christi C

    WOW!!! Can’t believe you have already met little Sam! I can’t imagine what your first meeting was like…tearing up thinking about it. Please know we are praying continually, we love you guys so mucH.Can’t wait for more updates!
    Love, Brad and Christi

  • Stephanie Davis

    Hello! My name is Stephanie and I am a friend of Jen and Warren Heckert. Jen told me that you are in Karaganda and looking for internet and a place to stay. My husband and I were there back in October. We stayed in a hotel and did not have good internet access at all. We also went to a nearby internet cafe. The only good thing was that if you paid extra, you could get a VIP room that had Skype setup. Even that did not always work correctly and because of the time difference, made it hard to find a time to call home, but… at least we had something. Our families were back here going crazy waiting to hear from us…
    Anyway, I wish I could give you apartment info, but Karaganda is a kind of wierd area. Most apartments were not close to the baby house at all. That is why we went ahead and stayed in a hotel.
    You are definitely in our prayers. Just remember that you are not required to settle. The baby that you bring home has to be YOUR baby. Do not let anyone pressure you to do something that you are uncomfortable with. God HAS called you and WILL direct you. 🙂 That was so hard for us to remember there as we felt so guilty seeing all the need and wanting to help. We actually bonded for a week with a little boy that just didn’t feel right, but … we didn’t know what else to do. Finally after much prayer and heartache, we saw God’s leading and had to walk away. We actually had to come home the first time without a baby (from a different region) and then the way was open for us to go to Karaganda where we met our little girl (but we didn’t know that was the plan and took a while to actually happen).
    Sorry, I didn’t mean for this to be a book, but I felt like you might need to hear that. Feel free to check out our blog or contact us at kazdream.blogspot.com if you do happen to have internet time. Know that we are praying for a complete peace for both of you.
    The newest blogging is since we have been home with our daughter, but if you go to the older posts… you will see that it was totally not a cakewalk and there was much that we had to learn along the way. Now, looking back and holding my little girl… I’m amazed at God’s plan and everytime I look at my baby, I couldn’t be more at peace with everything that happened to bring her to us. I know that she was the baby that God had for us from the very begininning. 🙂 Hang in there…
    Stephanie

  • Andrew

    i’m loving it, i’m still praying, take some joy

  • Maria

    dear charity and aaron-
    a little boy! what wonderful news. we have been checking your site every day waiting for your good news. congratulations, dear little clayton family!
    love,
    maria

  • Amber

    Praise the Lord for His faithfulness! Your lives of obedience and faith are a testimony and a legacy to those around you. I will be praying for this little one that the Lord has placed into your guys’ care. My prayer for you three is that this little one will be rooted and grounded upon the Lord! That they will be a testimony of the Lords GREAT faithfulness. Safe travels. Keep the Faith! I’m excited about meeting this little one.

    1 Thess 5:24

  • Misti

    Aaron and Charity,

    I am so excited for y’all and so glad that I found your blog months ago during softball….what an incredible blessing little Sam already is to so many people just from seeing all the comments made before mine. I know he will be loved unconditionally by both of you because you are both truly wonderful people that are constantly seeking after His face and His will! I am praying for all 3 of you and can’t wait to read more about the journey!

    Misti

  • Steph Hamilton

    I am seriously freaking out!! Aaron called me tonight after he read your post, and I screamed and started jumping around. God is so good. I think adoption teaches you how to truly depend on Him…I mean, we say we depend on Him, but when everything is taken completely out of your control and you feel completely lost and vulnerable, there’s nothing to do but depend on Him. Adoption does that to you. I love you guys and can’t wait to see Sam’s sweet lil face. I’m thinking of you guys all the time and praying for you. The Lord has brought you to mind so many times this week. I’m kinda envious that you are there right now. We have such fond memories of the things you are experiencing during this time, and these first moments with your son will be some of the sweetest. It’s so cool to see what your love will do for him. I can’t wait to hear the full story…in fact, could you please just hurry up and tell us?! Ok, so obviously I could go on forever. Can’t wait to see another post. Love y’all. Please give Sam a little kiss from me. Love, Steph

  • Aaron Hamilton

    Whoa! How amazing is this…I just got home from work and about jumped through the ceiling! So…lemme just say that God must be planning a little Kazakh play buddy for Ayan! How awesome! I can’t WAIT to see pics! We love you and are praying for you and your new little family!

    P.S. Boys are awesome!

    Aaron

  • Angela

    I am following your every move. Rick and I are so excited for you. We are praying for your little family. You do realize your a family now!!!!

    Love,
    Angela

  • susan

    Hey, congratulations! It is so surreal, isn’t it? Yesterday I celebrated my first Family Day (the day I first met my Kaz son). The year has flown by, but I must admit that the first day remains etched in my memory. I was a nervous wreck with the realization that I had jumped both feet in. Over the next few days when things started mentally setting in for me, my tears of anxiety turned into tears of joy and wonderment.

    If I can give you one suggestion, may I suggest that you get letters for your son from his caregivers telling him what he was like as a child and wishing him well for the future? My translator translated them from Russian to English. I did this and I now cherish the letters! And some day, I think my son will, too.

    Wishing you all the best, Susan smooretexan@gmail.com

  • White Family

    We are praying for your entire family! My little girls say a prayer each night that God will protect your family. I am not a blogger but I keep finding myself checking to see the next update. God is good…..

  • Michelle Dye

    I am so excited to hear the news. Thinking of you guys always! Your going to be amazing parents! Be safe and can’t wait to meet Sam and see you after your return.

    Love,
    Michelle Dye

  • nat town

    Yea! Can’t wait to see a pic of Sam!

  • Grammy

    We are sooooooooooooooooo excited and are looking forward to the day when we can see little Sam face to face and tell him how blessed he is to have wonderful parents like you two.
    Isn’t is awesome to see how God has brought you to this place?
    Love from Grammy and Grampy

  • Bryan

    Praise God for His faithfulness. This side of the world has got ya covered in prayer too:) We love you, dear friends.

  • Ashley and Luke

    Yay!!! How exciting! We can’t wait to meet little Sam! Thanks for updating. We are praying you guys through this process! Keep us posted!!!
    Love ya’ll,
    Luke, Ash, Claire and baby Allen 🙂

  • Aunt Kate

    I am so excited! God works in mysterious ways, and all we can do is pray for guidance in whatever comes of your next steps. We are all anxiously awaiting the next news from you guys and Sam; although Ya-Ya and Poppy are keeping me very updated. Thanks!

  • Aunt Jamie

    Yippee! God will remain gracious as He has been along every step of the way. So glad He doesn’t change, like we do! 🙂
    Can’t wait to meet Sam!

  • Jennifer M

    So happy for you guys! I’m glad to hear you were matched. You sound happy and at peace.

  • b skaggs

    Dude! That is so exciting! We are so happy for you all, and that God continues to answer prayers!!!

    keep us posted!

    still praying,
    the skaggs family

  • Fuller

    For goodness, I’ve been looking forward to hearing this for so long, I feel like I’m the one about to be a mom!

  • John Lewis

    Its so exciting to be able to follow you on your trip. We will add Sam to our prayers also. God is so faithful and his timing is always perfect. Praise Him for answered prayers !!!

  • Julie Davis

    I am just so excited with joy when I read this! I can’t even imagine the emotion that you both had, the first time you saw him!! We can’t wait to hear more news. Bo & I are parying daily for you. We love y’all & little Sam too!

  • Lindsey

    Hey Guys! I am praying for you! Thanks for keeping up the blog. Really helps me to focus and remain faithful in prayer! The video was great! You were hilarious! Check this verse out: Psalm103:13-14 I hope it blesses you in your journey!

  • katy

    Praise the Lord! I have had such a long week, and I am smiling ear to ear as I read this blog. Stay encouraged! You are covered in prayer by friends and family that love all three of you so much. katy c.

  • Keith Clayton

    Our prayer has been that you would instantly be filled with joy when you encountered the child God has for you. Your e-mail of yesterday revealed heavy hearts, weighed down with events of the day. Today, I hear joyful hearts full of excitement. Praise be to God, for He is present. Ps 16:11.

    Poppy

  • Aunt Mel

    Praise God! We are all filled with joy here. I already love little Sam. So good to hear and see answers to prayers.

  • Ky Martin

    Congratulations. So happy for ya’ll. Sounds like things moved more quickly / smoothly? than expected.. You must tell us why you picked the name Sam in your next update.

  • Emily Martin

    Hey guys – want you to know that Ky and I LOVE you guys and we’ve been praying for you like crazy!! We’re so excited for you and for the amazing story this child is going to have…what an incredible picture of the Gospel…wow…

  • ashli

    In all of the weirdness, God knows exactly what’s going on.

    Praying for settled hearts, spirits and minds and your other requests.

    My heart walks with you.

    Love, ashli

  • Aunt Elisabeth

    YEAH! We are so excited!

  • wattie212

    I am so happy for you guys. I have been following your blog for a long time and it is heart warming to see that it has all worked out, you are there and with your son. Looking forward to hearing more details when you guys are able to post.

    Sandi

Respond to this post

